I resisted the urge for a while now. The "Chara incident" was commented, analyzed and deconstructed
to death by anybody who anybody both in
mainstream media and the Hockey blogosphere.
I don't want to talk much about intent or if Chara is
considered a clean player. But I will say that it a bullshit
excuse being used by apologists.
These apologists forget one rule in life your intent is worth squat.
If you ran a red light and hit somebody breaking his neck
do you think your "intent" will get you a break in court?
If you drive drunk and kill somebody do you think anybody will
give a shit about your intention? Pro Sports does not exist in some kind of bubble where civil society does not exist anybody who pretend otherwise should be considered an idiot and dismissed as such.
The Chara hit was dirty but here the problem by the NHL fuck up standard it was not. The NHL consider that Chara is totally innocent because they decided a long time ago that they don't care how many guys get hurt as long as they get plenty of "Big Hit" to fill all their highlight reels. And anybody who subscribed to the NHL channel on YouTube would tell you the league is obsessed with Big Hit and highlight reel. The excuse that what Chara did happen all the time is just that an excuse to do nothing about reckless hit.
The NHL safety standards are a joke the other excuse I heard by the apologists is that the Bell Center is nefarious for being a dangerous place to play. Guess what the Bell Center is a modern NHL standard rink like almost all the arena of the NHL if the Bell Center rink is dangerous they all are. Ever wonder why every team in the league got many D-men hurt recently? About a little more than a decade ago players started using composite hockey stick that weight next to nothing nobody said anything at the time but it like Major League Baseball letting players use aluminium bat. That the kind of NHL safety standards that lead to this festering mess.
The real problem are the apologists both inside and outside the NHL upper management these enablers are responsible for NHL safety standards that let players wear and use just about any equipment they want and turn a blind eye on reckless hit and erratic disciplinary decision that leave players scratching their head. The apologists are scared that if you take away hit to the head and clean up the sports the next step will be fighting. If you think this situation will change anytime soon you are naive my friend. Reform will only come when the owners want it and most of them just don't give a shit about players safety. To reform the NHL you have clean up the whole upper management to really see a culture change and the current crop of owners are just not interested in doing so now but who knows maybe after the next CBA we can only hope.
Amazon banner
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Small Amazon banner
Popular Posts
-
Ference comes clean about 'unintentional bird' Comcast SportsNet New England The Bruins defenseman potted a tying goal i...
-
Bleacher Report Quebec Nordiques: Back on Track Bleacher Report And now we come so close to tasting what most of us hockey fans ...
-
After Jets, who's next on the move? CANOE "I happened to go to a Devils game and the whole upper end on one side was co...
-
Canadiens hire Michel Therrien again, keeping promise to hire a French ... Washington Post MONTREAL — Michel Therrien is coach o...
-
TSN Larry Robinson named associate coach of Sharks Montreal Gazette There had been considerable talk in the Canadiens universe ...
-
National Post Former Canadien Hal Gill still loves Montreal National Post MONTREAL — Hal Gill saw the ubiquitous Montreal lan...
-
CBC.ca Water main break closes Peel St. again CBC.ca Latest in a string of infrastructure woes Downtown Montreal has been hit a ...
-
The Guardian Charlottetown Former Habs coach, Joel Ward drop by UPEI fundraiser The Guardian Charlottetown Washington Capitals ...
-
Jaroslav Spacek was happy to leave Canadiens behind National Post 9, the 13-season NHL veteran was traded to the Hurricanes afte...
-
NBCSports.com Spacek happy to have left dysfunctional Habs for Hurricanes Edmonton Journal 9, the 13-season NHL veteran was tra...
No comments:
Post a Comment